Oat and Flax Crusted Mahi Mahi

mahi1

 

Can we just take a moment to stare in awe at that crust atop the mahi mahi?  I occasionally get a decent idea, not often, but occasionally.  When you are home alone, bored and hungry great things can happen.  This was in fact one of those times.  Truth be told, I have had the mahi mahi fillets in my freezer for a little while, only because I couldn’t decide how I wanted to fix them.  Which led me to not fixing them at all.  Last night, my husband was out shelling corn so I decided to do some kitchen experimenting.  I love crusted things, there is just something about a crumble topping that can send food over the top and beyond.  Mahi is normally paired with sweet things, like mango or coconut but I had none of that.  I decided to try out an oat and flax-seed crumble.  I also added some crushed up almonds too it, which added a nice sweet nutty flavor.  This recipe is super simple and requires only a few ingredients.

– Preheat oven to 400 degrees 

– Place mahi mahi on a baking sheet, sprayed with non stick spray

– Bake fillet for 7 minutes

– While fillet is baking prepare your crumble by mixing: 1 tbs butter with oats, flax seeds & crushed slivered almonds

– Remove fish and top it with the crumble & a little paprika, return to oven for another 6-7 minutes

That’s all it takes to have a delicious piece of fish ready to eat.  I had the couscous in the fridge leftover and so I decided to warm some of that up to along with it.  The couscous was cooked in POM juice which paired perfectly with this fish.  If you don’t have some already made then you can you can easily make it while the fish is cooking.  All you need to do is bring 1/3 c POM juice to a boil, remove from heat, stir in 1/3 c couscous and cover the pot with a lid and let it sit for about ten minutes.  Remove the lid from the pot and fluff the couscous with a fork, and it’s ready to eat.

Normally, I always want some sort of salad to go along with a fish meal.  So I chopped up some cucumbers and tomatoes, mixed them up and topped with feta cheese.  This was a perfect side dish to along with this fish.  This is a quick meal, one that you could make on a week day when you have little time but want a nice home cooked meal instead of opting for fast food or pizza.  I will also add that this is the length of time it took for my fillet to cook but you will want to check it and remove from oven when the fish flakes easily with a fork.  This may take more or less time for you depending on the size of your fish fillets.

mahi2

One thought on “Oat and Flax Crusted Mahi Mahi

Leave a Reply

