Sweet Potato Chile Soup

I apologize that I have not been able to post for a bit.  Things have been extremely hectic here at our household.  We have had company for much of the time and I have been playing hostess.  Which has meant staying off of the computer and trying to entertain as best I can.  Things are back to normal now and so I am able to get back to writing on here.  I was just reminded by my mother that we are doing the Susan B. Komen walk for the cure this Sunday.  We did the same one last year in honor of a dear friend of mine who has survived breast cancer.  It is always a good time and we enjoy it.  Hopefully the weather will stay nice for us.  It has been so beautiful the last few days as fall has started to set in around the Bluegrass State.  It has gotten a little cooler and there is always a breeze.  This means it’s almost time for the boots and sweaters season.  As far as food is concerned it’s also the time for soup and chili.  Which brings me to this wonderful soup I made last night.  Honestly, this may have been the best soup I have ever tasted in my life, no kidding.  Which really surprised me because it has very few ingredients, five to be exact, if you don’t count the toppings.  Which you most certainly do not have to add.  I highly recommend them though.  I was hoping to top this with some avocado but when I cut into my last remaining one I realized that it had already turned into the brown mush state.  Avocados go bad so quickly.  One day they are perfect and the next they are completely inedible.  It is sort of crazy actually.  Here are the ingredients you will need to round-up for this amazing dish:

Ingredients

1 Sweet Potato – cooked (I cooked mine in the microwave but you can bake it if you have time)

1/2 C – Vegetable Broth

1/2 C – Unsweetened Plain Almond Milk

1 Chile Pepper in Adobo Sauce

Sea Salt

Topping Ideas

Corn Chips

Avocado

Greek Yogurt

Anything Really

How Too

Grab a blender (I just used a small one).  While the potato is cooling add the broth, milk and chile pepper to the blender.  Scoop out the insides of the cooked sweet potato, mash it up and then add that to the blender as well.  Blend on high until the mixture is pureed.  Transfer contents to a small pot, add the sea salt to your liking and heat thoroughly.  Once the soup is warm transfer to a bowl and top with whatever your heart desires.  I added a few corn chips and swirled in some plain Greek yogurt.  Enjoy!

This is super easy and can be vegan, without the yogurt of course.  I did not think something so simple could taste so amazing.  I was in shock that this turned out so well.  For taking only 10 minutes to prepare, this is a quick and easy dinner idea or lunch.  I think everyone would enjoy this.  The chile pepper gives it a touch of a smokey spicy flavor which pairs so well with the sweetness of the potato.  Trust me, give this a whirl, literally, in your blender.  I’m such a ham sometimes!  This recipe is enough for one person or two if you are willing to share, which I wasn’t.  I inhaled all this by myself and savored every last bite.  Give it a shot and I think you will be surprised at just how wonderful it is.

sweetpsoup

The colors of this soup just scream FALL.  Don’t you think?  I’m sure you would get a similar outcome using butternut squash or pumpkin which I plan on trying soon.  Now I’m thinking of trying this with pumpkin and a little curry spice.  That post may be coming soon.  After I go to the grocery store that is.  We are running low on things so it is going to be necessary for me to go tomorrow.  I hope everyone has a lovely day and maybe you will get a notion to make this tonight.  If you do, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

One thought on “Sweet Potato Chile Soup

Leave a Reply

