Lemon Poppy Seed Mug Muffin

There’s nothing like the refreshing taste of lemon.  Since summer has pretty much dwindled away and it’s now September I decided to make one last summer time inspired treat for breakfast.  It felt like a send off to the warm weather and sunshine.  Bring on the leggings, boots and sweaters.  It’s fall time which means loads of fall inspired foods will be taking over the internet in a very short time.  I feel as if I have already started in that direction with all of the pumpkin recipes lately.  I wanted to end the summer season with an ode to my favorite summer time treat…lemonade!  Now, you can make or buy lemonade all year round but for some reason it just doesn’t have the same effect on the soul as making and enjoying your first summer batch of lemonade.  I digress…on to the muffin.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I just don’t want to make a huge mess in the kitchen.  Especially on my last day off before heading back to work.  Insert sad face here for the holiday weekend being over.  It has been filled with lots of laughs, fun and new home purchases.  Including, a new sofa for our entertainment room in the basement.  How exciting is that!  This muffin though, literally takes very few ingredients, AND….wait for it… everything is mixed and cooked in a coffee mug.  Which means that you only have to wash the mug and a spoon.  It does not get any better than that folks.  Absolutely delicious and low maintenance equals a total win in my book.  It looked a little something like this:

lpmm1

Ingredients

2 Tbs Coconut Flour

 1 Tbs Liquid Egg Whites

1/4 tsp Baking Soda

1/4 tsp Baking Powder

1 Tbs Sugar Free Lemon Pudding Mix

2 Truvia Packets

1/4 tsp Poppy Seeds

2 TBS Plain Greek Yogurt

Splash of lemon juice, coconut extract and unsweetened almond milk to moisten.

Alright guys, this next part is extremely difficult so stay with me here.  Spray a coffee mug with non stick spray, put all of the ingredients straight into the mug and stir it all up.  Pop it into the microwave for 1.5 to 2 minutes.  Turn the muffin out onto a plate and add some blackberries if you wish.  Goodness that was difficult, I think I even broke a sweat typing it out.  Of course I’m kidding, but do not be fooled by the easiness of this recipe.  I promise that it will taste like something that took an hour to prepare and bake.  Thankfully, this was not the case at all.  I took my fancy muffin to the front porch and enjoyed the sunshine and a warm cup of coffee.  I felt like I had done the summer justice and waved it goodbye.

lpmm2

2 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy Seed Mug Muffin

  1. While I’m not a huge fan of poppy seed anything you made it sound good. May just have to try it sometime soon, Great job keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

