Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

ppsoats

 

Sometimes on a Friday night you just need a warm bowl of oatmeal.  I love breakfast food, of any kind and at any time of the day.  For some reason it always just makes me feel warm and toasty.  I had some leftover pumpkin puree from making the pancakes the other morning so I decided to try pumpkin pie oatmeal.  While this was cooking I left off the vent fan and let the smell of warm pumpkin fill my kitchen.  It automatically sent me into fall mode.  Which we all know is the season of everything pumpkin.  Starbucks comes out with their famous pumpkin spice latte, moms around the world start making pumpkin pie and apple cider.  It is just a comforting smell, no other way to describe it.  I am a lover for the summer season but I can’t deny that I get somewhat excited about the start of the fall season.  I look forward to it every single year.

On to these amazing oats.  Honestly, I forgot that it was oatmeal when I began eating it.  I even closed my eyes and imagined eating a large, warm piece of pumpkin pie straight out of my moms oven.  That’s exactly what these oats tasted like.  Not everyone is a huge fan of the pumpkin flavor but it’s one that I really love.  This is simple to make and doesn’t take long at all.  So when you are hungry and in a hurry these are a good option.  The ingredients you will need are as follows:

– 1/3 cup Rolled Oats

– 2/3 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

– 1/4 cup Pumpkin Puree

– 3 packets Truvia (or sweetener of choice)

– 1/2 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

– 1 tsp Butter Extract

– 1 tsp Maple Flavor

– Optional but highly recommended: slivered almonds, chopped dates

Bring your almond milk to a boil then add oats.  Cook until some of the liquid is absorbed then add pumpkin puree, truvia, pumpkin spice, extract & maple flavor.  Stir it all up and cook to desired consistency.  Once it’s all done just pour it into your bowl and top with “optional” ingredients.  I highly recommend them as it bumps this recipe up to a whole new level.

I took my bowl to the couch and snuggled up under a nice warm blanket.  It’s a great feeling to be home and warm with a nice bowl of goodness.  Fall is quickly approaching and I suspect I will be doing much more of this in the coming months.  Now all I need is a nice toasty fire going in the fireplace.  Who knows, I may even be a rebel and enjoy a hot cup of cocoa afterwards.  In fact, that sounds like a splendid plan.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

