Pumpkin Spice Protein Pancakes

pp1

 

This morning was an unusual one.  Normally on a Wednesday morning I would be doing my usual: up at 4:30am, coffee, get ready for work, pack lunchbox and leave for work.  Today was a different kind of day.  We had our annual staff day at work.  Basically we go to the park, cookout, do some training and then head home.  So this morning I had plenty of extra time because I didn’t have to be at the park until ten o’clock this morning.  I slept in later than usual but still had plenty of time to kill so I decided to do some kitchen experimenting for breakfast.  I’m so so glad that I decided too because I discovered these amazing pancakes!  They are protein packed and everything on this plate is completely sugar-free “gasp”, yes even the chocolate sauce is sugar-free.  I know that sounds absurd but I promise that it is true.

Cabinet hunting is a fun game when you have no idea what you are going to create, so that is where I started.  I ended up with all of this loveliness on the counter:

pp2

 

I stared at it for a moment and then decided, PANCAKES!!!  I grabbed a small bowl and got to work.  I don’t always measure things out completely but this time I decided too in case I wanted to share the recipe.  Luckily for me, it was a success and now I can share it with all of you.

For this recipe you will need:

– 1/4 c Pumpkin Puree

– 1 large egg

– 1 tbs Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

-1 scoop protein powder

– 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

– Dash of vanilla extract

– 2 Truvia packets

– Dash of baking powder

Just add everything to the bowl and mix.

pp3

After you get everything mixed together, spray a small skillet with non-stick spray and heat to medium.  Pour the batter into hot skillet and cook as you would a normal pancake.  When the top and sides start showing bubbles you know it’s time to flip them.  I made my pancakes quite large so it only made two but if you make them smaller you could make a mini stack.  I had a mini banana left so I sliced it and layered it in between the pancakes.

Now, on to this amazing chocolate frosting/syrup, whatever you want to call it.  This stuff is heaven and you could use it for anything and everything.  I heated it up in the microwave after mixing it up so it would be a warm topping for my pancakes.  This is simple to make and you probably already have the ingredients in your cabinet.

Chocolate Sauce

– 2 tbs Hershey’s Dark Cocoa Powder

– 1 tbs sugar free pancake syrup

– 1 tbs almond milk

Yes…that is it.  That is all it takes to make this deliciousness.  I got the recipe for this wonderful chocolate frosting from StuftMama.  If you have never looked at her website then you really should!  She is amazing and has a ton of healthy recipes and fitness ideas.

So after assembling my pancake stack and topping it with the chocolate, I added a tad more sugar-free syrup and sat down to enjoy my wonderful breakfast.  If you aren’t a huge fan of pumpkin flavored things you could always switch it out with applesauce and apple pie spice.  I’m positive that it would also produce a great outcome.  Staff day went splendidly and it was good to see and talk to some of the people I don’t get to be around very often.  Tomorrow is back to the normal work schedule but this break today was much-needed.  Just in case you wanted to see a picture of the inside of my pancake stack, I took one for you.

pp4

 

I know you all are now drooling on your computer keyboards.  Excuse me a moment while I go get a paper towel to clean mine off as well.

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Protein Pancakes

Leave a Reply

