Sweet Potato Nachos

sweetpnacho

 

Two of the best known foods in the history of man, put together into one amazing dish.  Can we just pause a moment and give thanks to God for creating sweet potatoes.  Also, to the amazing creator of peanut butter.  There are, in today’s time, a million different types of nut butters and flavors but peanut butter in itself dates all the way back to the Aztecs, who ground roasted peanuts into a paste.  After a quick Google search of the history of peanut butter, I found that Marcellus Gilmore Edson was actually the first person to put a patent on peanut butter  in 1884.  This day in time, we get the chance to try: almond butter, peanut butter, macadamia nut butter, sunflower seed butter, cookie butter and etc.  Seriously, the list goes on for days and days.  We have evolved into making flavors such as: white chocolate, salted caramel, chocolate, brownie batter, vanilla bean espresso, so on and so on.  It really makes me wonder what the first peanut butter tasted like.  Was it thin? Runny? Super thick?  I guess we will never know the answer to that.  However, we have no shortage of magnificence to tempt our taste buds now.  When I was a kid, I would always get excited about the idea of a thick peanut butter (ex the jelly for me) sandwich.  I couldn’t even imagine now opening up my lunchbox to a white chocolate wonderful Peanut Butter & Co sandwich.  I would have thought my mother had gone mad, like the hatter from Alice in Wonderland.

Now, as an adult, I have come to realize that nut butters are way more versatile than just for making a normal sandwich.  I’m talking about peanut sauce, and things of this nature.  It’s exciting to find out all the different uses for this ingredient.  Last night I decided to test out a fun use of this nectar of the God’s.  I discovered stuffing a baked sweet potato with nut butter was one of the most amazing tastes I have ever tried.  Since then I have been hooked.  We all know that the experience of food all begins with the visual aspect of it, so I decided to try something other than the regular baked stuffed sweet potato.  I started slicing the potato into rounds and realized that they looked like large chips and the idea for nachos came to the forefront of my brain.  Yes, you heard me correctly, but just in case I’ll say it boldly and slowly… SWEET…POTATO…NACHOS!

So, on to the making of this deliciousness.  First, preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Slice your sweet potato into rounds and set aside.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spray it down with non stick spray.  Arrange sweet potatoes on the baking sheet and spray the tops with the cooking spray, then sprinkle on the cinnamon.  Bake for 15 minutes and then flip over the slices, return to oven for another 15 minutes.  Now to ramp things up a little bit I decided to roast some blackberries during the last 15 minutes of cooking, so I just laid them on the baking sheet with the sweet potatoes.  I don’t know if you have ever tried roasting fruit but it is pretty darn good.  It gets warm and gooey, like the inside of a cobbler.  While you are waiting patiently for the last 15 minutes of cooking time to be over, go ahead and grab a jar of whatever type of nut butter you would like to use.  Scoop a couple of tablespoons into a coffee mug and place in the microwave.  As soon as the potatoes and fruit are finished roasting, remove from the oven and arrange them on your plate, nacho style.  Heat the peanut butter in the microwave until it’s melted and runny, then drizzle it on top of your sweet potato/fruit mixture.  Try and contain your excitement as you sit down to eat this masterpiece.  Or you can enjoy this as I did, through tears of pure elation.  I tried to remain some composure and eat these with a fork, but my inner child eventually came out and I just started using my hands (sorry mom).

Mostly all nut butters are fantastic but I decided to use Peanut Butter & Co White Chocolate Wonderful for this recipe.  This is one of my favorites to pair with the natural sweetness of a sweet potato.  I’m not 100% sure but I’m pretty positive that any type you use will be just as amazing.  For all the parents out there with picky eaters, I’m thinking this would be a great way to get the kiddos to try a new vegetable.  As I believe that almost any child would eat anything with peanut butter on it.  Unless they have a peanut allergy of course, and then I think you may want to avoid this at all costs, unless you use a nut free alternative.

So go forth, into your kitchen and fire up that oven.  Pull back your hair, put on the chefs hat and get to baking.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Nachos

Leave a Reply

