Banana Bread Oatmeal

image

This morning I was craving something savory for breakfast.  What is better than a warm bowl of oatmeal?  Don’t get me wrong I love my overnight oats with a serious passion, but sometimes you just want something warm and comforting.  So I went to work in the kitchen searching for ingredients to make the perfect oatmeal.  I had some mini Dole bananas in my fruit bowl and the idea for banana bread oatmeal was born.

This was honestly some of the best oatmeal I have made and I may even put it above my brownie batter birthday oatmeal.  Ingredients for this recipe are simple and you probably already have most of these things on hand:

Banana Bread Oatmeal

– 1/3 cup Rolled Oats

– 2/3 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

– 1/4 tsp Butter Extract

– 1/4 tsp Banana Extract

– 1 tsp Cinnamon

– 3 Truvia Packets

Heat the almond milk til boiling.  Add in rolled oats and reduce heat to medium.  Once the oats have soaked up a little of the liquid add in the extracts, cinnamon and Truvia.  Continue to cook the oats to desired consistency.  All done with that part!

I also decided that I wanted to bump this recipe up a little more.  It hit me to make a peanut butter sauce to go on top.  You don’t have to add this but I promise you wont regret it if you do.

Peanut Butter Sauce

– 1 tbs PB2

– 1 tbs Sugar Free Pancake Syrup

– Drizzle of water to make it thin

Mix all ingredients together in a small bowl (I use a ramekin), then set it aside.  Once you have sliced your banana and added it to the top of your oats drizzle on the PB2 sauce and some slivered almonds.

This was like eating a freshly baked piece of banana bread but in oatmeal form!  You should give this a try, or come up with your own fun version of oatmeal.  Maybe pumpkin pie or apple spice.  Actually, I may even have to give those a try soon.  Here is a look at my brownie batter birthday oatmeal:

IMG_3385

4 thoughts on “Banana Bread Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

