Cake and a Lesson

Last night was my sweet nephews second birthday party.  I was tasked with making his cupcake cake for the party.  I don’t know about you, but these things always make me nervous.  Don’t get me wrong here, I love doing it, but you still have worries that accompany the cake/cupcake baking and assembly.  Will it taste good?  Will it look ok?  Will I be able to get this buttercream icing to the right consistency?  If you have ever attempted to make your own decorative icing then you know this struggle all too well.  It honestly doesn’t take a whole lot to mess it up completely.

After being asked to make this cupcake cake I immediately started looking for a good frosting recipe.  I don’t make it often enough to have nailed down a go-to recipe yet.  I figured Google was as good a place to start as any and the first search that popped up was from the Martha Stewart website.  Immediately, I thought “Oh yes, Martha Stewart, that should do it.”  When I pulled up the recipe I noticed that it said to use 1/2 cup of milk, which seemed like a lot to me because normally buttercream frosting’s need very little liquid at all.  I’m talking one to two tablespoons here.  Instead of listening to my “cooking gut” I just went along with the recipe and followed it to the T.  All afternoon I worried about this frosting and it’s ability to hold up while piping.  When I finally got home to start decorating, my worst fears came to life…the frosting was simply too runny.  At this point I was thanking the heavens for Pillsbury canned frosting.   Obviously, this is not ideal, as I would have liked to have presented my own, from scratch, version, but with only one hour left to get to the party I had no time to attempt this over again.  So the moral of this story is too always trust your gut in the kitchen.  Just because a recipe calls for a specific amount of this or that ingredient doesn’t mean that you have to use it all, just tweak it to your liking.

I must say that I was still pretty pleased with the finished product.  It was cute and everyone really seemed to enjoy it.  On another note, I learned that Wilton icing color will stain anything it comes in contact with.  Yes, this includes your fingers.  I still have a slight blue tint to my left thumb.  My nephew sure didn’t mind though, as he had it smeared all over his cute little face.  Nobody else seemed to mind either and spending time with my family and watching my nephew open presents and smile always makes for a good night in my book.

Here is a look at my completed train cupcake cake:

IMG_3466

I believe it’s the small details that make all the difference.

3 thoughts on “Cake and a Lesson

Leave a Reply

