Sunday Cleanup & Food Preparation

Sundays are fantastic days to clean up the leftovers in the fridge and too prep food for a week of healthy lunches.  I understand that week days are busy for everyone, that’s exactly why taking your extra Sunday time for weekly food prep sessions are great.  It may take a couple of hours to do but your body and wallet will thank you for it during the week.  I have been packing my own breakfast and lunch too work for years now.  I cannot stress just how much money this has saved me over the years.  Since my husband and I have been married (1 year in October) I have been packing his lunch as well.  He is amazed by how much money this has actually saved us in this short period of time.

Normally I will try and make a few different meat selections on Sunday night and then throughout the week the only thing I have to prepare are vegetables for dinner.  Our lunches normally consist of sandwiches and salads.  I know that many may think this gets old but there are so many ways of constructing a salad or sandwich that it can always seem like a totally different meal.  I am lucky, in that I work in an office with a microwave and refrigerator so it’s easy for me to pack things that need to stay cool and things that need to be heated up.  My husband on the other hand is a farmer and can only take something that fits within his work cooler.  I have learned during this very hot summer that pre-arranging sandwiches was not going to work.  I learned this after my husbands first lunch turned into a soggy mess.  Since then I have been packing everything in it’s own ziplock bag to keep them everything seperate and this has seemed to work splendidly.  I have even  been able to send things like chicken nachos with my success.

My first suggestion to everyone is to invest in at least one good lunchbox container.  My personal favorite is my Laptop Lunchbox.  I don’t know if you have ever heard of this brand but I can promise you that it is absolutely perfect.  It comes with several different containers that all fit within the large box.  These mini containers are also great for portion control.  Do yourself a favor and check them out if you havn’t.  This box is a great place to start for preparing and taking your own lunches to work.

Here is a quick list of some of the things I made today to prepare for this week:

– Chopped lettuce for salads

– Spicy Roasted Tofu

– Sliced mixed fruit

– Pot Roast

– Mashed Potatoes

– Zucchinni Casserole

– Avocado Tuna Salad

For dinner tonight I finished the other half of my roasted acorn squash and had a side salad with some of the tofu I made earlier and a dollop of greek yogurt.  Over the course of the next few days I will try and compile some photos of my lunches so I can show you exactly how I prepare for the week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

